top of page

Oxford Walks

In the beginning of my stay in London I felt that I wanted to vist a new city in the UK. I had been to Brighton before but this time I wanted something more classic old school British. Oxford seemed like a good place to start in the search of some historic sights.

Our first stop was Christ Church University. Just look at that historic building with all the red wild wine. The inside of this iconic university was magical to choose a cheesy word. Maybe it was because the corridors and the great hall felt like they were taken from straight out of the Harry Potter films, which wouldn't be logical at all time wise. Of course it's the other way around, the hall in the actual films is a replica of this one and the corridors was used to film some of the scenes in. Although the university and it's church is stunning it is the thought that people actually have studied and still is studying here that knocks me off my feet. You can really tell that it's an environment where people feel inspired to learn.

I felt a bit disappointed with the town Oxford as a whole and the city center. I would have expected, since it is a city of many students, that there would be loads of cool little shops and cafés, or at least a lot of old famous ones. But no, nothing like that. We had trouble finding a decent place to have some scones (but did eventually find a nice yet crowded café). Maybe we just hadn't done our research but the town didn't feel alive. It felt very touristy and like things had stayed the same in forever (not in the good way, though).

After our scones and tea the sun came out, which I was angry about at first (my mood some days are not stabile) since I like when it feels grey and typical autumnal. We did get to see Oxford in both sunshine and rain though which was nice and we also got to have a beer and some crisps outside a pub - nothing to complain about that. The Bodleain Library was beautiful, just a shame we couldn't go inside (more of Harry Potter is filmed here).

The stunning old building below with a variation of stuffed animals and skeletons is the Oxford University Museum of Natural History. I liked the fact that most of the museum collection was in this huge room/hall. There was not really much of a entrance, after a few stairs you just stepped in to this. Very unusual, I must say, which gave the museum a unique feeling.

After the museum visit the rain started to pour again and when we left Oxford I felt rather happy about not have fallen completely in love with another English city. London was still number one.


bottom of page