top of page

A Declaration of Love

One reason behind my love for museums is that they are aesthetically pleasing. National Gallery is one of the first museums that I visited where I really got this kind of ”wow” feeling for a museum. Everything is just so majestic. The wallpapers, paintings, golden frames, Chesterfield like sofas (could do a whole blog post rambling about my love for these sofas), high ceilings and the people inspecting the art. All of these components in combination creates this stunning museum. Since there is art from the 13th to the 20th century and therefore a big variety of artistic styles the museum can be attractive for a variety of different people. The National Gallery is a good place for making fun of paintings and the weird things they often portray. Like the one I have photographed where a man is putting a dead man’s head on a tray (scroll down to see it), what’s up with that? Of course, you can read the sign and get the explanation behind the artwork, or you can make a game out of it – ten possible reasons for the story behind the painting. Anyway, my point is, this museum is one of the best out there.


bottom of page