top of page

An autumnal day in Richmond

You come back at peace when you have been to Richmond, that's just the case. I went there one day having the park as my main attraction but accidentally ended up walking around the whole village as well. Both on my way to and back from the park I had some amazing views over the area and of the Thames. In Richmond park there is a gate with he words 'The Way' on it. I don't know if there is some kind of philosophical meaning behind it but you can see all the way to St.Pauls Cathedral from this point. On a more careful thought, maybe it in some refers to the way to God and Heaven because St.Pauls Cathedral has been THE church in London for a very long time? I should just google it. Anyway, I could actually see a very tiny distant contour of the cathedral even though it was a cloudy day. One thing I was very happy about was seeing some of the many deer that lives in the park. Deer must be my favourite animal, since I'm not really very keen on animals normally (I know it's a sin to say but I will take the risk). They are just so darn cute with their white dots and horns.

The village of Richmond is very charming. Like Hampstead there are just tons of cute little streets, lanes, shops and cafés. So much to explore even though the village isn't that big . Richmond makes such a good escape from central London.


bottom of page