top of page

This is also London

Recently I have been exploring east London a lot more. Last week I decided to go for a walk around Canary Wharf and Poplar. Canary Wharf is a quite new area in London just by the river. It all used to be docks back in the old days but after the port industry started to go downhill gigantic business complexes started to be built here instead. Poplar was and still is today quite a poor area, after having being heavily bombed during the World Wars, it consists of mostly of houses from between the 1950's and 1980's. It is a goldmine for those who loves Brutalist architecture! What I discovered is that I have gotten so used to west London with all it's Victorian and Georgian houses around every corner that I feel myself being very put off by newer buildings. West London gives you a very romantic view on what London is when it comes to architecture but also social status. I'm a big fan of old buildings, I love everything with a story. A walk through these east London areas got me thinking about how it might be good for me to be less limited in what I find beautiful when it comes to cityscapes and architecture. And I mean, everything has a a story, not just things that are older than 100 years. I kind of hated Canary Wharf and Poplar but that's also why I kind of loved them. They challenged me and showed me a different side of the city which is a big contrast to what I normally think of as London.


bottom of page