top of page

Victoria & Albert did well

I am a big fan of Queen Victoria, I just find her and her life very fascinating. If you haven't seen the TV Series recently made about her regency or the film made with Emily Blunt as Victoria make sure to check them out. They're just stunning, well made and interesting. Kensington is the area where you can see some of the actual tangible things Victoria and her Prince Albert left to the world. There is Royal Albert Hall, Albert Memorial and the Victoria and Albert Museum. I have yet to visit Kensington Palace where Victoria grew up and Buckingham Palace where she and Albert lived through their regency. Still, Kensington can provide you with enough to discover for a whole day. On a recent walk I wandered aimlessly trough Kensington with all its quaint mews and pretty streets. Edwardes Square, Lexham Mews, Radley Mews, Cornwall Gardens, Cornwall Mews, Kynance Mews, Elvaston Mews,Victoria Grove and Queens Gate Place Mews is just a few places that is worth a visit. Kensington is such a good area for finding hidden corners and gems. Later on, I decided to go to THE museum. One of my favourites - The V&A. Its collection consists of art, sculptures, design, furniture, fashion and so on. I find that it offers a big variety of objects, I could almost say that there is something for everyone but maybe that's to take things to far. Some people don't even like museums, which is something I have to learn to accept. In case you are one of those people but like shopping, V&A have an amazing museum shop. One thing I kind of get envious of is the people in the museum who are sitting down and sketching. Look at the picture down below and imagine yourself just sitting there drawing for hours and hours. Maybe I do romanticize this idea of having a peaceful moment, but still, I wish i could draw sometimes.

When it comes to actual visual and tangible things, Victoria and Albert did well. Kensington is the perfect area in London if you want to get a glimpse of their life and at he same time don't mind seeing some pretty mews.


bottom of page