top of page

Empty streets

One sunny Saturday in January I walked around what I normally refer to as the business district of London. Now, after I discovered Canary Wharf, I've realised that this isn't THE business district in London, just one of them. What I partly wandered around was The City of London. It actually is a city within London and one of the oldest areas. There were settlements here as early as 50 AD, which is just crazy to think about. You can even see signs of this still in form of the London Wall here and there. It's just a very interesting area since there is such a mix of old and new buildings. I just love the contrast that creates and is still one of the reasons behind my love for this whole city. As I've said many many times before that I need to work on and what I'm actually beginning to learn is that even the new buildings ( with new I mean what has been built in the last 60 years or so) have a story behind them. It was strange though to walk around these areas on a Saturday, everything is closed and empty since not much happens here during the weekend. Almost like a ghost town. I like having a place to myself though, it makes me really think and take in stuff. I'm not as pretentious as that sounds, but I guess I'm kind of a dreamer. I like to imagine things as they once were. Especially the small alleys around Smithfield Market made me feel like I was taken back in time. Almost like someone had placed me there 200 years back and like humanity was obliterated. I do recommend a stroll around St. Paul's, Farringdon and Holborn. It's just a unique feeling around those streets that is hard to find anywhere else.


bottom of page