top of page

Up North

I've been to Camden Town plenty of times and I must say that I'm not its' biggest fan. So I thought that I'd take a friend and try out its' neighbour village -Kentish Town. Also on the same walk we wanted to check out Highgate and it's famous cemetery. It turned out to be a lovely walk. In Kentish Town we discovered the ultimate dream street (Kelly Street) with pastel houses. So actually it's not just Notting Hill who can provide those. The area also seems to be full of nice bars, shops and restaurant. Maybe just nothing that stood out to me. Highgate cemetery was actually just as I'd expected it. It has two sides with two different entrances, East and West. The West side was more expensive and you had to go on a guided tour while the East side was cheaper and you were allowed to roam around as you's like, so we decided to go with that. Once in, away from the big pathways, this cemetery felt like a different world. A world full of ivy, moss and, I guess, dead people. It was something about this cemetery that made you feel like this is a place where people come to grieve those who are missed. Also, that there's people behind the names on the gravestones. I don't mean that as a creepy thing just as a nice way of thinking of people that isn't with us anymore. Because the names have been just that, actual people, made of flesh and blood, and all with unique personalities. A thing that can be fun to do at a cemetery is to look at the names o the gravestones and discuss them, if you like them or not. Me and my friend enjoyed this very much, especially since we don't have children and like chatting about what they're going to called. I found out that I'm into classic names apparently. There sure were a lot of Williams, Edwards, Elizabeths and Marys. It feels like the characters out of a Jane Austin novel, doesn't it? I kind of like it.

After looking at gravestones we craved lunch (as you normally do) and walked up to Highgate Village which had cute streets and pubs, but also some of the café and pizza chains. It's maybe not a place I would go to again, but it was alright. After walking around a whole day you suddenly feel fed up with quaint houses and pretty pubs. But it seemed like a nice little village. Maybe worth another visit with fresh eyes, not having roamed around before all day.


bottom of page