top of page

This is England?

A couple of weeks ago I went on a little road trip to see something else than this city called London. I have felt cravings for classic English countryside views and quaint little villages since I moved here. The Cotswolds seemed like the perfect choice for an introduction to some stereotypical British vibes. We started in the very much instagrammed Castle Combe, which was very quiet at the time and felt like something out of a fairy tale. Absolutely magical. The sad truth is that although I consider myself to be a dreamer I'm also a sceptic and a realist, it's not always the best combination. My first thought in Castle Combe was 'WOW' but then that changed after a walk around the village unfortunately. The village felt a little bit too perfect, on the brink of feeling fake. This village hasn't naturally progressed, somebody has decided that it should be as it has been since it was first settled (almost anyway). There's nothing wrong with that I guess, I enjoy feeling like you're in a different world taken back in time, but then I always tend to remind myself that it's not for real. My favourite part of Castle Combe was probably the church and cemetery, just stunning. For some reason I'm really into cemeteries at the moment.

On the drive through the Cotswolds we spotted some building sites. The funny thing is that all the newly built houses are built in the exact same style as the old ones and in the same type of stone. The houses sure makes the area feel very unified. Bibury was another stop we made, like Castle Combe, the village felt dead in some way, like time had stood still and like nobody lives there for real. Though of course very pretty. The Cotswolds is well worth a visit and makes for an excellent day trip from London. At the end of the day we drove through Oxford which is another city to visit in the area. I hope to see Bath and Bristol one day as well.


bottom of page