top of page

York part one

Lately I have been trying to explore more of my local neighborhood but also focus more on things outside of London. When I discovered that there was a train taking you up to York from London in just two hours I decided that this Yorkshire town would my next destination. It felt like a very simple way to see a completely different part of the country. One Saturday morning in early March me and a friend set our course to York. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to walk around the city and how a day actually felt like enough time to walk around and see all of the most essential places. So we started out with checking out Yorkshire Museum and its' gardens with the ruins of St Mary's Abbey. It was a very good introduction to what was to come - just stunning. We then wandered around some streets and ended up on the old wall and got to see the town from above and from a distance. There's something about being in a new place and seeing it from above, almost like seeing it on a map. I love maps, obsessed with knowing where things are geographically - a most charming hobby of mine! We didn't actually pay to see the interior of the Minster but we were able to stand in the entrance and have a sneak peek. It is very impressive from the outside though, I was actually very taken by it's grandness. So cool! We then continued our walk around some streets with little quaint shops. Worth a mention is High Petergate and Stonegate. At the end of Stonegate, just next to York Minter, there is a very cute old-style sweet shop called Cocoa and Sweet. If you have a sweet tooth like me this is definitely wort a visit! A must see is of course the famous The Shambles with crooked timber-framed houses. If the street would be free from tourists it would probably feel more authentic. Still super pretty though.

That was actually half a day spent in York. In part two I will ramble on about what we got up to in the afternoon. Stay tuned.


bottom of page