top of page

Needed some sea in my life

I've always told myself that I need to live by the sea. That has been my one criteria for living somewhere else than my hometown which has a beautiful coastline.

Then I had to go and fall in love with London. Why, just why? Luckily we have the Thames, but I mean it's disgustingly dirty and because of the tide it hardly has any water most of the time. I need more water in my life. One day in early June I took the train to Brighton in search of one missing element.

And voila! The sea in Brighton is almost magical, so incredible turquoise and inviting. There's a big but though. I just need to take a moment to moan about the sea gulls. COME ON! Pesky pesky birds. They add a certain something to a seaside town - yes, to that I can agree. But they are so creepy and evil, just like pigeons in London. I'm not the biggest fan of birds, shoot them all I say. Not the small cute ones though, they can live.

I love walking around the lanes which have lots of independent and antique shops. I had a fun few minutes imagining the jewelry I'd buy if I were rich. Worth mentioning are all the amazing stationary shops, I like my stationary a bit too much sometimes. The Royal Pavilion is one of those landmarks that actually is worth seeing, both outside and inside. So weird and eclectic and with a fun history.

Brighton is one of those places that despite a lot of tourists (just like myself) it actually calms you down. Must be the sea.

(Culottes: COS, Top: & Other Stories, Bag: & Other Stories)


bottom of page