top of page

Ciutadella

One of the main cities on Menorca is Ciutadella. Looking through the photos I've realised how many yellowish buildings there were, in that way it was a very monochrome town, I'm a big fan of keeping things simple like that. When visiting several places during a holiday you do tend to compare them with each other. The other big city on the island is called Mahón and wasn't at all playing in the same league.as this city. It depends on what you like of course, but Ciutadella felt like a older and more authentic town. I absolutely love Art Nouveau buildings and walking around I found so many, I think it's just something about the small details and the shape of the windows that I never tire of, there's so much to look at. That's also why I love Barcelona and Palma De Mallorca, they're just full of Art Nouveau architecture. The old market halls selling fish and meat were just stunning, a bit run down but that is kind of what made them more attractive. Imagine going there every Friday afternoon stocking up for a weekend cooking session. It would probably never happen though, all the "imagine living here and doing that" kind of thoughts that normally pop in to my head would probably never happen if I was living in the actual place. It was very nice to visit a city and take a well needed break from the beaches and sunbathing.


bottom of page