top of page

Windsor & Eton

One day in September I got on a train that took me to Windsor and Eton. This has been on my 'to see around London' list for a very long time and I thought that early Autumn would be a good time to go. I was so surprised that actual village of Windsor was so big but also very cute despite all the tourists. There were lots of shops and restaurants that actually makes a visit to Windsor more worth than if the castle would be the only thing to go there for. Okay, so the castle -just wow! I was so surprised by its grandness. Unfortunately there were no photography allowed inside the castle which I think is bullshit. I don't understand the reason behind it. More people would visit if they see pictures on social media and so. But to go back to the castle - the interiors were just so beautiful and opulent. I did also like the Queen Mary's Dolls House (google it) which was the biggest dolls' house I ever seen. It even had its own basement and garage. Good thing I didn't see it when I was little, I would have serious envy! The exteriors of Windsor Castle as well as St. George's Chapel are just so grand even though it's all very well thought through because of the tourists. It was almost a bit too well made and fixed up where just everything was in the same colour palett and all the souvenir shops had signs in an old style and the same visual material. I'm not going to lie though - I do appreciate when it's all matching. After the castle we went for a walk through Windsor and then over the river to have a quick peek at Eton and Eton college. The main street in Eton was so charming. There were lots of cute old shop fronts still there. This weekend actually turned out to be the weekend all the boys were dropped off at the college which was a bit entertaining to see. The parents hugging their kids and leaving them with massive heavy bags. Windsor and Eton sure makes a good day trip from London. Please enjoy all the photos below (there are about a million of them).

Windsor

Eton


bottom of page